[Review] Sleeping with Laneige Water Sleeping Mask

20170619_131759

I am back to the Korean skincare game!

I have plenty to try out and caaaan’t wait to give you my thoughts on them. You may not know it, but I used to be a firm believer of Korean skincare and makeup–this you know ^^– long before I started writing reviews. I stopped using them since I wanted to try local skincare which are waaay affordable. Idk, maybe I was so used to Korean skincare and my skin kinda craved great ingredients (weird lol) so I purchased a few Korean skincare products. First things first, today I’ll talk about the highly raved and very much liked, Laneige Water Sleeping Mask.

As you may know from Korean beauty land, Song Hye Kyo is the face of Laneige for quite a long time, since 2008. Which, she has been the brand’s spokeperson for nearly ten years! I guess this is also why so many people are interested in buying Laneige, since her complexion is soooooooooo beautiful. Her skin is translucent and flawless, I can say. And Laneige is one of the most popular K-beauty brands in the industry. Some of their famous products–other than the Water Sleeping Mask, are Lip Sleeping Mask, BB Cushion, Two-Tone Lip Bar, and the Water Bank Essence.

Water Sleeping Mask in an over-night sleeping pack that recharge moisture, quickly absorbs while you sleep to deeply hydrate skin and wash it off in the morning. I didn’t know what’s so important about sleeping mask before, so when I tried it for the first time (I used one from Etude House but it is discontinued), I woke up in the morning felt really oily and quickly washed my entire face. It was stupid of me….😂

From the website:

  • Recharge dehydrated skin overnight. This innovative mask is formulated with highly concentrated Hydro Ionized Mineral Water to deliver intense doses of moisture to stressed, parched skin.

  • Calming Sleepscent™, infused with orange flower, rose, and sandalwood, relaxes and comforts while apricot and evening primrose extracts brighten and purify fatigued skin.

  • The result: skin looks and feels radiant, refreshed, and soft. Wake up to soft, glowing skin.

Sleep-Tox™
A purification technology to help calm skin from damage and external stressors that skin suffers during the day. Antioxidant-rich Hunza Apricot and Evening Primrose work throughout the night to purify fatigued skin. 

Hydro Ionized Mineral Water
Formulated with 6 moisture-maximizing minerals—zinc, manganese, magnesium, sodium, calcium and potassium—that are ionized and stabilized in water to penetrate quicker and deeper into skin. It provides Natural Moisturizing Factors (NMF), similar to skin’s own moisturizing agents, to circulate and retain long-lasting moisture. 

Moisture Wrap™
An exclusive technology that features a mineral network of moisture-rich beta-glucan to form an 8-hour time-release moisturizing layer over skin. It locks in active ingredients and mineral water. 

Directions 
Apply evenly across face. Leave treatment overnight and rinse off in the morning. *Use once or twice a week.

INGREDIENT WATER / AQUA / EAU, BUTYLENE GLYCOL, CYCLOPENTASILOXANE, GLYCERIN, CYCLOHEXASILOXANE, TREHALOSE, SODIUM HYALURONATE, OENOTHERA BIENNIS (EVENING PRIMROSE) ROOT EXTRACT, PRUNUS ARMENIACA (APRICOT) FRUIT EXTRACT, BETA-GLUCAN, CHENOPODIUM QUINOA SEED EXTRACT, ASCORBYL GLUCOSIDE, MAGNESIUM SULFATE, ZINC SULFATE, MANGANESE SULFATE, CALCIUM CHLORIDE, POTASSIUM ALGINATE, AMMONIUM ACRYLOYLDIMETHYLTAURATE / VP COPOLYMER, POLYSORBATE 20, DIMETHICONE, DIMETHICONOL, DIMETHICONE / VINYL DIMETHICONE CROSSPOLYMER, PROPANEDIOL, ETHYLHEXYLGLYCERIN, STEARYL BEHENATE, POLYGLYCERYL-3 METHYLGLUCOSE DISTEARATE, HYDROXYPROPYL BISPALMITAMIDE MEA, INULIN LAURYL CARBAMATE, ALCOHOL, 1,2-HEXANEDIOL, CAPRYLYL GLYCOL, CARBOMER, TROMETHAMINE, DISODIUM EDTA, PHENOXYETHANOL, FRAGRANCE / PARFUM, BLUE 1 (CI 42090)
DAY/NIGHT Night
CAPACITY 70ml / 2.36 fl.oz.
CONCERNS Hydration

Seems miraculous. I was tempted by the description and purchased it as fast as lightning. The ingredients itself look promising: Evening Primrose extract known to treat acne and reduce moisture loss, Apricot fruit extract, Quinoa seed extract, and other beneficial things.

My Korean is so rusty I barely can read this TwT

The packaging is light blue shade, frosted jar which seems quite luxurious for me. I like the blue color, looks calming. Inside, the gel-cream texture has slightly blue coloring, due to the extractions from natural resources (so the small booklet inside the box says). As for me, just by looking at the product gives me a nice, cooling sensation feeling. Like, can I dive into it…..ha ha

The suggestion before you use the gel, take a few seconds to inhale the relaxing scent. It is fresh and somewhat calming. I like the scent a lot. It isn’t as strong as my Grandma’s retinol cream. This one’s refreshing. But sensitive people may not like the scent.

Freshly applied by spreading the product gently onto skin, the gel feels cool and sinks into the skin in seconds. I don’t feel any stingy-ness and itchiness, that for me is a good thing! My super sensitive skin will show redness and start to feel itchy when the product irritates my face. This one doesn’t ^^ I uses the sleeping mask three times a week. You can definitely use it twice a week if you have oily or combination skin. But I just want to be extra and I have some dry areas around my face.

Using it for a month, I can say that I like Water Sleeping Mask but don’t love it as much as others. It works like what it says: keeping my skin moisturized overnight and waking up with super soft and supple skin. My face is hydrated and doesn’t look so gloomy after using it. Hoooowever, it doesn’t do much to my pores. I still see my pores flaring up. I thought it will somehow tighten pores, as some reviews said it helps to reduce the appearance of pores. Maybe it’s not working for my large pores. My take on this product: A nice sleeping mask that will give you hydration in a night but not helping to reduce large pores. I’d recommend it to people who have trouble with dehydrated skin and anyone who doesn’t have troubled skin. I will likely repurchase, though not in the nearest future, as I will look for other sleeping mask than can probably tightenmy pores, that way my pores will look not so obvious (*´罒`*)

I got this online from Mimo Beauty for IDR 310k.

Thank you for reading and I’ll see you in my next post 😊

2 thoughts on “[Review] Sleeping with Laneige Water Sleeping Mask

Leave a Reply

