Skincare for Beginners

Do you use skincare everyday? Or you only use it once when you’re about to go out of the house?
Whichever you do, it’s very important to use skincare as your daily routine every morning and night. Why is skincare important? Because it is your skin treatment! Taking care of your skin needs commitment. The result is not instant, I prove it myself. But if you’re into it, you’ll see the improvement in years. Better starts late than never!

Here are some regimes you can use to start your skincare routine for first-timer or beginners:

20170302_110153

  • Toner

Toner is used to prep your skin for the next skincare. There are plenty toners out there in the market, choose which best for you. I have tried various toners from thick liquid type to spray. My favorite toners are Hatomugi Skin Conditioner and Avene Eau Thermale. For starter you can try Hadalabo toner that’s affordable and easy to find in stores.

20170302_110418

  • Moisturizer

After applying toner, use moisturizer to keep your skin moist and hydrated. Choose any moisturizer that suits your skin type. I have oily, sensitive skin prone to blemishes so I don’t want anything ‘too’ heavy for my face. Cream-typed moisturizers are the ones I consider heavy for me since I feel they don’t sink into my skin properly. And most of the times cream moisturizers get me breakouts. I have been using gel type moisturizer since, and it works fine. I’m using Wardah Hydrating Aloe Vera Gel every morning and The Face Shop Damyang Bamboo Fresh Soothing Gel for night.

20170302_110555

  • Sunscreen

Do I have to tell you to NEVER forget applying sunscreen everyday? Even if you don’t work outdoor, using a little bit of sunscreen won’t hurt. Sun exposure damages skin slowly. Committing using sunscreen can change your complexion. You can google more about the important of using sunscreen. One of the benefits is to prevent skin cancer. There are tons of affordable sunscreens on the market with various SPF, try Skin Aqua or Biore UV.

You can definitely try these 3 simple skincare steps for the first time. It was my skincare regime when I was in college: using toner, moisturizer, and sunscreen. As I grew older and became a beauty enthusiast, I expanded my skincare regime with more staples.

20170302_110721

Serum is now becoming my essential regime. Serum has lighter consistency than moisturizer and usually goes after toner and before moisturizer. It is said serum works to give more powerful effect of your skincare. Read more about it here. I am currently using these on rotation: The Body Shop Tea Tree Daily Solution serum and Wardah Vitamin C serum.

Okay, now you have mastered some beauty skincare.

Do you need more? Yes or no.

Eye treatment, for example, is what you can add to your skincare regime when you feel the need to do it. I myself haven’t added eye cream because I usually use my moisturizer gently under my eyes and sometimes use cotton pads soaked in cold green tea and let them stay for a few minutes with my eyes closed. It refreshes my eyes and lessens puffy eyes.

You can add more weekly skincare regime after you have routine. Weekly treatment helps you to boost healthier and better skin condition—though you also need to maintain eating habit and drink plenty of fluids. I rarely go to salon for facial. I do my facial at home, only peeling (exfoliation) and face-masking.

20170302_110816

I give my skin peeling time once a week, to get rid of dead skin cells and makes my skin less dull. I use Cure Natural Aqua Gel for peeling. It can also be used on body as well. Sometimes I switch to face scrubs. Use whatever is good for your skin. Many face masks you can get from drugstores or beauty stores. I like using mask sheets for practical purpose. Check out cheap thrills face masks like My Beauty Diary or The Face Shop. They have various types: Oil control, pore-tightening, hydrating, brightening, soothing, et cetera.

20170302_110919

Remember, when you want to use skincare for the first time, always do patch-test. A patch test is a method by trying a product a little on your skin to see if the product will cause allergic inflammation. Simply said, to check whether the product is for you or not. Because talking about beauty products—be it skincare or makeup—it can be very subjective. Also, check the ingredients when you have allergy to certain chemical substance. Get to know your skin type and sensitivity is a good start.

Let’s have a beautiful outside but inside, too!

Thank you for reading and see you on the next post (*´︶`*)♡

3 thoughts on “Skincare for Beginners

Leave a Reply

