Beauties Failed

There are times when makeups don’t work out.

In my case, most of the time makeups don’t work the way I want them to be. i have skin problems and what I want from my makeup is *honestly* magic 😂

These are some beauties that didn’t do tricks for me. Some used to be my favs, the rest is just–NOPE. But let me remind you again that preferences are subjective, so if they work for you then that’s good.

Etude House Any Cushion is the first I have to mention as disappointing product. I purchased this for the case (MINNIE MOUSE HEY HO) and of course the refill. It’s my first cushion ever so I was excited to see what I got. The color option is too limited, even the darkest shade shown like a thin layer of mask and the finish is so matte on me. Not to mention it looked so cakey. I give a pass to this one. Etude House launched other cushions which claim to have better formula but I’m not sure to try the them. Not in the nearest future, I guess.

Many beauty gurus raved Revlon Colorstay foundation as one of the drugstore’s best foundations. Too bad I can’t say the same. I used the Combination/Oily version when I was in college. I remember I didn’t finish the bottle because it felt heavy on my face. And maybe that time my makeup skill was horrible too, so yeah….. Anyhoo, I thought I should give it second chance so last week I picked Normal/Dry  type up along with new Colorburst Matte Balm lip crayon and Moisture Stain. I confidently told the BA I wanted the shade 180 Sand Beige since I used that shade for Catrice All Matt Plus foundie and it matches my complexion. LOL lesson learned, shouldn’t have thought every shade with the same name shall do the same too. IT WAS TOO LIGHT. Or, on me it doesn’t look yellow tone at all. More pinkish! And the worst of all, it breaks me out. I started harvesting pimples around my nose and chin 😥 Now I’m afraid to use it at the moment but maybe it’s either the foundation or the beauty blender I’m currently testing.

I have to put Emina Cosmetics Cheeklit Blush to my makeups miss for one reason: it messes up my foundation when I apply on top of it. This is a cream blush with a pretty pink tint. At first I quite enjoyed it, but then I realized when I applied it after my foundation, the blush erased my foundation–not blend into it. The staying power is in fact amazing. I only have the problem with how difficult it is to blend and the strong powdery scent. Sorry, Emina. Maybe you’re not for me 😥

Majolica Majorca Nude Maker Gel for Active Girl is a dud for me. I like the original version better than the latest one because it’s not patchy and matte. My skin has been in trouble as the season changed to rainy season and I want something that will keep my skin moist, not accentuate  dryness around the face. This one is probably good for summer or dry season in Indonesia. However, I’m gonna repurchase the original Nude Maker Gel and use it together with Biore UV gel.

On to lippies, I have 2 Nope lipsticks at the moment.

Revlon Moisture Stain is literally dries my lips. I was tempted to get one because some beauty bloggers or vloggers say it’s good. I as well wanted to try US-brands’ lip stain since Korean beauty brands started the lip stain hype. They have wide range of shades though thank goodness I decided to get one first–the reason is: my lips get super dry and chapped after using it. The formula is sticky and it has a weird scent which I’m not a fan of. I don’t think I’ll be using it again in the mean time. Mine is the shade Milan Moment.

Lastly, the disappointing lippie goes to Bourjois Rouge Edition Velvet in Honey Mood. I don’t know why this one has different formula from Don’t Pink of It, even the scent is yuck. It’s more gel-like, which makes it hard to apply onto lips. If you’re not a fan of floral scent in your lipstick, just give it a miss. The color is pretty, though. But the scent bothers me a lot.

These are my current Beauty Nopes. I tried to love them, I do.

Thank you for reading ^^

Leave a Reply

