Tonari no Kaibutsu-kun, All The Sweetness and Bitterness of High School Romance

What would you think about romance in high school?

Happy? Sweet?

Or sad? And bitter?

I would say mine was happy and sad. There was happy moments, however I also experienced bitterness when I was in a relationship. That’s how relationships work, I guess.

Today I’m going to tell you one of my favorite anime in 2012, Haru and Shizuku’s love life. Yeah it aired 2 years ago, call me outdated but I have been into its music lately, so why not write something about it, that’s what I thought. So here it is!

tnk cap1

tnk cap2

Tonari no Kaibutsu-kun, or in English it is simply translated as My Little Monster, is a story of a plain young teenage girl, Shizuku Mizutani who accidentally has to bring  her classmate next to her, Haru Yoshida to present in class again after several fighting he does. The fine boy is a delinquent who is feared by many students in school. Shizuku is not interested in any social interactions, due to her obsession to be got academically, to make her mother proud.

tnk cap 22

tnk cap3

Meeting Haru changes her ordinary life.

Haru is literally a handsome beast, in my opinion ^^ He’s strong, good-looking boy, who is actually compassionate to others. However that kind demeanor is misunderstood by most people. He meets Shizuku which later he falls in love with, yet he assures that he likes her in a sexual way, while Shizuku maybe really likes him personally.

tnk cap4

tnk cap5

tnk cap7

Through the 12 episodes of anime the main characters develop relationships and interactions. Shizuku knows how to make friends, and so does Haru. Their friend, Asako Natsume learns that love is not always ends happily as it told. And Souhei Sasahara, known as Sasayan feels infatuation for the first time.

I do love this series. The characters, the plot, and endearing relationships among the characters are great. I love how Haru loves Shizuku and never gives her up. He has difficulties, family matters that makes him stubborn and resentful, but Shizuku changes the bad side of him. Not to forget the awkward relationship of Sasayan and Natsume! They’re so so sooooo adorable!

tnk cap9

tnk cap10

Haru is voiced by my favorite seiyuu (which he’s been down to my second or maybe third favorite due to my infatuation to Kiyoshi Teppei and his VA lol) Tatsuhisa Suzuki, who also voices Kazunari Takao from Kuroko no Basket and Free!’s Makoto Tachibana, while Haruka Tomatsu does amazing job in voicing Shizuku.

Though the anime only has 12 episodes, the manga ends in 12 volumes contains of 48 chapters, which you can read here. From what I read in Wiki, there will be special volume for side stories, like Sasayan and Natsume’s part maybe? Yaaayyy so excited >A<

About the soundtrack! I must say I loooove the soundtrack. The original soundtrack is done beautifully by Masato Nakayama from Elements Garden. Elements Garden is a Japanese group of music composers, which generally produce music for video games, anime, and recording artists. Not much I know about this group, though. I love most tracks inside the soundtrack CD.

Here is my favorite track from TnK’s soundtrack: Hope

I would recommend this series to anyone who wants to read or watch high school romance or shoujo manga that is not all about romance but also friendship and family. It’s funny, it’s sad, it’s lovely, and funny again! LOL After all, we need something sweet and bitter side by side, right? 😉

Have a great day! Much love xoxo

Leave a Reply

